Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

Things are about to get really interesting here at The Barrel Racing Blog.

I’ve got nothing but good news to share. Last week, I accepted a position across the country in Boulder, Colorado. This is GREAT news, for a girl that’s been searching and searching for months for the perfect job. And this pretty much goes straight in line with my dream of moving West and taking my horses with me.

So, in less than a month, I’ll be packing up my truck, trailer, car and U-Haul and leading a cross-country-caravan to start a new life under the wide-open skies of the Rocky Mountains. Moving three horses (two barrel horses and a rope horse) 1,400 miles is a task by itself, let alone moving a household full of stuff, finding work for my horse-shoeing team-roping who so graciously is leaving his life here behind to join me on our great adventure and staying sane all at the same time.

I think I’ve found a place to keep the horses at a reasonable cost with a nice indoor, which was priority numero uno. Now it’s time to find a place to live somewhere in between the barn in Brighton, Colo., and work in Boulder. Rent in Colorado is a BIT more than in Southeast Ohio, so I’m looking for something nice within reason. That’s tough, so I’m discovering.

The logistics of the move, then, are the next huge step. Getting all of the stuff packed in this great college house we live in is a gigantic struggle, and finding out how to move it out there is another issue.  So far, the plan is for my mom and I to drive a U-Haul out filled with my furniture first, pulling my car. Then I’ll fly back for graduation, and *hopefully* be able to get off work to make the trip back out with Corey and so he can bring out the horses, truck trailer and other belongings. Phew, I’m tired just thinking about all of this.

Are you thinking that means The Barrel Racing Blog won’t have coverage of local competitors, shows and fashion? That’s not the case at ALL. I’m still going to be posting lots of great content about the Pennsylvania, Ohio and West Virginia barrel racing/rodeo communities; however, I’m going to need YOUR help! I know lots of you, and I know you all are trying to get to as many barrel races and rodeos as you can. That means I’m going to need your reviews of shows to post the Monday after an event. I’ll talk more about this in posts to come, but start thinking about whether or not you’d be willing to share your experiences with other competitors!

This also means that you’ll get to watch as I try to get acclimated to live out West. I’ll keep regular updates coming about the move and the experiences I have while I’m out there. I’ll also be expanding the BRB to cover competitors I meet out there, and I’ll be doing Weekend Reviews of shows and rodeos I hit along the way.

Stick with me, and with the BRB, and you won’t be disappointed. Get ready for one heck of a ride!

3 thoughts on “Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

  1. Congratulations and WELCOME to Colorado. We will be living on opposite sides of the mountains, but I’m do have a few runs lined up on that side, so maybe we’ll get to meet up sometime.

    I don’t know if you are familiar with Mugwump…her blog is listed on my blogroll. She lives in Broomfield, very near where you are moving too. Maybe slip over to her blog and send her an email. She is quite familiar with the area and might be able to help you out.

    And boy-oh-boy…do I hear ya on the moving. I’ve done it several times and it’s hectic.

  2. Pingback: Update: Oxy-Gen Xtreme GI Care « The Barrel Racing Blog

Leave a Reply

