We’re Back; Charmayne James Race in the Rockies

Things here at The Barrel Racing Blog have slowed down a bit lately, mainly because things in my life have sped up! I don’t mean to abandon this blog, though, and that’s certainly not in the plans.

Two weekends ago, I got to run at the Charmayne James Race in the Rockies, the first race of its kind in this area. After two good runs, an awesome weekend in one of the most beautiful places on Earth, and introductions with some amazing show producers and equine journalists, I left the barrel race with a sense of awe at the way the show was handled.

The backdrop for the Charmayne James Race in the Rockies

The fastest time of the weekend was a 14.0, while other 1D horses clocked in the 14.2-14.3 range. The deep sandy ground gave some horses problems, but most horses, like my own, found the ground perfect for a good dig and turn. Unlike any barrel race I’ve been to other than a few select shows back East, the grounds crew drug every five horses and hand-raked to ensure safety. After a major hail storm, show organizers took an hour-and-a-half long break to allow horses and riders to regroup, and to permit the grounds crew to drain the water from the alleyway to keep the entrance and exit safe for all horses.

SO, if you’re wondering what is coming next for The Barrel Racing Blog, expect a review of Seabuck, an all around health product, coming up in the very near future. I’ll also talk a little more about my experiences with JailBreak GI, because I have much more to say about that product. I’m looking forward to figuring out new stories to put up here, and I’m looking forward to hearing from all of you about what you’d like to see – ChelseaEToy@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

