WBRC Team EAST’s Megan Yurko

One West Virginia cowgirl who’s already made her name on the national barrel racing scene is going international – this time as a crucial member of the World Barrel Racing Challenge’s Youth Team East.

The only barrel racer representing her home state of West Virginia and only one of two barrel racers from Ohio and West Virginia on Team East, Wheeling, West Virginia’s Megan Yurko is ready to face off against the best in the U.S. in Perry, Georgia this April. A two-time All American Quarter Horse Congress Champion, Yurko has already left her mark on the industry, and she looks to continue her dominance in 2011 with her top mount.

Over the next three days, we’ll get to know Yurko and her 2004 mare, Beea Stash Of Money.

How did you qualify for Team East (or, who nominated you and why)?

I was first invited last spring by Jeanette Nelson but was unable to qualify because of school, and my horse had a bad sole bruise. Then a month or so ago Jeanette called and said that someone had a conflict and had to pull out on TEAM EAST and she immediately thought of me!! I didn’t hesitate in saying, “Yes, yes, yes, I would love to compete!!”

Which horse will you be running in the challenge?

Beea Stash Of Money, aka Beea, by The Money Doctor (by On The Money Red) out of Beea Frosty Peppy.

What was your first reaction to hearing you were selected to be on the team?

I was excited, overwhelmed, nervous and even a little worried. Worried because Beea hadn’t been raced since July when she got a sole bruise in the field, and I just starting working her in December. We decided to enter her in a rodeo in Fredonia, Pennsylvania the next weekend, and she won it for me by .3 tenths without being pushed!!! My worries have since gone away!

How does it feel to be on a team coached by Martha Josey, with the very best of the best in the country?

I feel very honored and privileged to be on TEAM EAST!! I have looked up to and have wanted to meet Martha since I started racing when I was 7 or so. I cannot wait to finally meet her and everyone on both teams!!


One thought on “WBRC Team EAST’s Megan Yurko

  1. Hello would you mind letting me know which web host you’re using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price? Thanks, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

