Meet the Best of the Best in Ohio: Barbara Jimison

Photo by Brent Puhl

This morning we met Justin Theado, and tonight we’ll meet Barbara Jimison, who had major support from her fans when it came to our nomination period! Barbara and this special horse have laid down some amazing runs at the WB Ranch (one of them is shown below) and their looking to continue their dominance of that pen on September 30! 

Tell us about the horse you’ll be running in The Best of the Best in Ohio Barrel Race. (Name, bloodlines, style, age, owner, any other fun details.)

I will be running Miss Secret Memories aka CC. She is a Leaving Memories on top and Our Miss Z Whiz on the bottom. She is 8 years old quarter horse I have owned her for 2 years now. I bought her from Lisa and Tom Wylie. She was born in Texas, was started on on the track and now has turned into an amazing barrel horse and companion. She is a very push-style type horse yet she loves to run. The more I work the more she gives. CC is a very expressive horse. I’ve learned to read her body language and know what she wants. She is very spoiled : )

What is the biggest race this horse has won?

The biggest race CC has ever won would have to be the 4th Annual Super Open Show located in Unadilla, Georgia at the Southeastern Arena out of 260 some head.

What is your biggest win as a barrel racer?

As a barrel racer that would probably be my biggest race also that I have won. I placed 9th in the finals at NBHA Youth Worlds in 2010.

Have you ever run at the WB Ranch before? (If so, what did you think of the facility and the ground, and how did your horses work there?)

Yes, I love running at WB. The facility is amazing, the ground is always good, and my mare loves running at WB Ranch.

Tell us one little-known fact about you or your horse.

Barbara's "Team Marley" (and CC biting her tongue!)

A silly fact about CC is that she loves to bite her tongue, most of the time after we run a race or when she is bored. CC always gives me a 110% when we run, she has one of the biggest hearts.

This race is all about charity – What’s the biggest cause you believe in and why?

The American Cancer society is one of the biggest organizations and causes that I believe in. I have had friends and family fight cancer, some living through it and others have passed away. Raising money for any kind of cancer is a great charity.

I would like to thank my family and friends for always supporting me. Also, The Wylies for selling me such a great horse. I have met so many amazing people in the world of barrel racing and look forward to meeting many new people! Good luck to everyone.

4 thoughts on “Meet the Best of the Best in Ohio: Barbara Jimison

  1. Pingback: The Best of the Best in Ohio on the News! | The Barrel Racing Blog

  2. Pingback: On the Road with Dawn and Clea (Part 2) | The Barrel Racing Blog

  3. Pingback: On the Road with Dawn and Clea from WB Ranch | The Barrel Racing Blog

  4. Pingback: Congrats to Barbara Jimison and Miss Secret Memories | The Barrel Racing Blog

Leave a Reply

