Meet the Best of the Best in Ohio: Justin Theado

We’ll get started with one of the young guns in the Best of the Best in Ohio Charity Invitational: Justin Theado. He’s certainly not the youngest (that title goes to Miss Regan Henning, who you’ll hear more about shortly) but he’s definitely an up-and-comer to look out for! Learn all about why Justin earned a spot in the slot race by reading his interview below. And, catch a video of this pair at the end of the interview. 

Tell us about the horse you’ll be running in The Best of the Best in Ohio Barrel Race. (Name, bloodlines, style, age, owner, any other fun details.)

My horse Andy (An Angels Treasure), is a 10-year-old Paint horse out of Treasure Too. I’ve known him since he was a yearling and I’ve ridden him since he was four. He was trained by Cathi Jones. He is definitely Mr. Personality. He only lets me or my sister ride him. Anyone else he pretty much tries to yard dart. He gets very low going around the barrel and makes his time up between them. He always gives 110% when he runs and never let’s me down.

What is the biggest race this horse has won?

The biggest barrel race I’d say we’ve won was the Youth Finals at the 2011 NBHA State Show this year.

What is your biggest win as a barrel racer?

That is probably also my biggest win as a barrel racer.

Have you ever run at the WB Ranch before? (If so, what did you think of the facility and the ground, and how did your horses work there?)

I went to WB February of 2010 with the Shirey family–that was my only time there. It was a nice place from what I saw and the ground was good, but since it was about 10 degrees out and 30 mph winds, we spent most of the time sitting in the truck with the heat on, lol. Andy did okay. It was early in the season so he wasn’t 100% there yet.

Tell us one little-known fact about you or your horse.

A small fact about me is I probably could never let Andy go for any amount of money. He’s treated me way too well and I couldn’t stand to see him at another home.

This race is all about charity – What’s the biggest cause you believe in and why?

I think the biggest cause I believe in is cystic fibrosis. For some reason it just sticks out to me and means something. I also know a few people who have it and it’s just hard thinking how different their lives are from ours and how they have to think their life will only be half as long as the rest of us.

4 thoughts on “Meet the Best of the Best in Ohio: Justin Theado

  1. Pingback: Meet the Best of the Best in Ohio: Morgan Henning | The Barrel Racing Blog

  2. Pingback: Barrel Horse World News — Meet the best of the best in Ohio: Morgan Henning

  3. Pingback: Giant Installment of On the Road with Dawn and Clea | The Barrel Racing Blog

  4. Pingback: On the Road with Dawn and Clea (Part 2) | The Barrel Racing Blog

Leave a Reply

