Meet the Best of the Best in Ohio: Haley Patterson

Haley and Val

This is another horse in The Best of the Best in Ohio with a Congress championship under his belt. Haley Patterson and Vals Alive might not have been together as long as some of the other teams in our race, but in a short time have laid down some of the nicest runs this side of the Mississippi. This is our #1 horse out of the chute, so watch for this team at the beginning of the race tomorrow!

Tell us about the horse you’ll be running in The Best of the Best in Ohio Barrel Race. (Name, bloodlines, style, age, owner, any other fun details.)

The horse that I am running at the best of the best is 9-year-old Vals Alive, by Dashing Val and out of Grandmas Alive. I own him. His style is as we say “crazy,” you never know what he’s going to do. He’s one of kind, and always keeps you on your toes especially in the gate. I consider myself to be one luckiest girls to have a horse like him even if he has his moments. I couldn’t have asked for a more incredible horse. If you want fun stupid details he has a thing were when you cinch him up he makes this really loud farting noise with his lips. It will make anyone laugh.

What is the biggest race this horse has won?

Val won the Youth 14-18 at the Congress 2 years ago with Jesse Wagner.

What is your biggest win as a barrel racer?

Myself my biggest win wasn’t even a win. It was just placing third behind Janice Wagner and Lance Graves at the Kentucky State Fair. I consider that my biggest win.

Have you ever run at the WB Ranch before? (If so, what did you think of the facility and the ground, and how did your horses work there?)

I have never been to WB before.

Tell us one little-known fact about you or your horse. 

We haven’t been together for very long but as some say we were made for each other. And I’d say were probably the underdog for this race

This race is all about charity – What’s the biggest cause you believe in and why?

There are a couple causes I believe in:
1. Breast cancer awareness. I have had good friends and family have this and it is very close to home in my world. I also believe we are so close to finding a cure for it .
2.Cerebral Palsy I have met many kids and families that are affected by this and they are so strong and positive I love that about them. I did a huge report on this in high school and learned so much it affected me very deeply to learn about it and have a better understanding.
3. My final cause is one that is not displayed everywhere and known to a lot of people, but it is one that I’m truly a huge part of: Helmet Awareness!!!! This is something that I am truly an advocate of and try and pursue wherever I go. So many people don’t wear helmets when riding and they always have an excuse to why they don’t wear one, whether it be it looks funny, or I’ll never get bucked off, or it will bother me when I’m running. I have known a couple really close friends that have been in horse accidents and died due to head trauma. The doctors said if they would have had a helmet on they would still be alive. In the case of my former boss she wasn’t bucked off in fact she was simply walking her horse on a loose rein when it tripped and couldn’t regain its footing. I always say, “You were born with two arms, two legs, two eyes, but only one head why not take care of it?” People don’t realize how important this is and how your life can change in a blink of an eye. I have a friend who as of right now is in a coma for 2 months from a horse accident at her house. Nobody knows what happened, just the fact they found her unconscious in the riding arena. She didn’t have a helmet on. This isn’t a cause were donations are made, it isn’t about money; it’s about how much you care about yourself and protecting yourself. Nobody wants to get hurt and most certainly nobody wants to die so why take the chance? Even if you look goofy at least your more safe. Anyways I could go on and on about this all day long!

2 thoughts on “Meet the Best of the Best in Ohio: Haley Patterson

  1. Lets set the pace tomorrow night girlfriend! You might thinks you are an underdog but you are going to be a force to be reckoned with for a long time with Val. You are a great kid and I can’t wait to cheer you on tomorrow night! P.S. Buck will be cheerin for you too!!

  2. Pingback: On the Road with Dawn and Clea (Part 2) | The Barrel Racing Blog

Leave a Reply

