Meet the Best of the Best in Ohio: Hannah Shirey (and a Bonus Interview with Jenna Shirey!)

The Shirey family has the most competitors of in this race of any family in the state, with a stunning three members that qualified. Hannah will be running, but Jenna will have to take a medical redshirt because of an injury she sustained a few weeks ago. Individually, each of the Shireys has earned a spot in this race, but as a family, they are a dominating force. Learn more about Hannah and Jenna below. 

HANNAH

Tell us about the horse you’ll be running in The Best of the Best in Ohio Barrel Race. (Name, bloodlines, style, age, owner, any other fun details.)

I will be running Sissys French Guy, or we call him Pierre. He is the beautiful gelding of Smug Sissy and Frenchmans Guy. He is 6 years old and definitely acts like it. My Grandpa Dan actually owns him but has let me pretty much have him. He is my little boy and I think I love him more than I have any other horse!

What is the biggest race this horse has won?

I believe the biggest barrel race he has ever won would be the NBHA point shows here in Ohio. He did place at the Great Lakes National though!

What is your biggest win as a barrel racer?

I won the Colonial Nationals three years ago.

Have you ever run at the WB Ranch before? (If so, what did you think of the facility and the ground, and how did your horses work there?)

I like WB alot, we do not go there often because we live so far but I really like it. Pierre did well the one time I took him there, we won the youth and placed in the open.

Tell us one little-known fact about you or your horse. 

Pierre is probably the most rotten horse, we go hand-in-hand. 🙂

This race is all about charity – What’s the biggest cause you believe in and why?

The cause I believe in the most would have to be helping children in need and definitely giving animals homes.

JENNA

Tell us about the horse you’ll be running in The Best of the Best in Ohio Barrel Race. (Name, bloodlines, style, age, owner, any other fun details.)

My horses name is Tiny Bit Of Fashion; she is a 10-year-old mare. Her dad is Leaders Luck and her mother is Fashions April Jet. She is a super quick mare who tends to get ahead of me lol…but she is a blast!! Brad and I have owned her for about five years.

What is the biggest race this horse has won?

I have done really well with her at our state shows, and got second behind Barbara in the first go this year! Brad and Hannah have also won a lot of local shows with her as well.

What is your biggest win as a barrel racer?

I can’t say that I have won a huge barrel race, but I have placed high at many. Running second behind Barbara and Miss Secret Memories is probably my proudest moment.

Have you ever run at the WB Ranch before? (If so, what did you think of the facility and the ground, and how did your horses work there?)

I have only run Fashion once at WB but she did well. It’s a great facility with good ground. A very nice place to have a show.

Tell us one little-known fact about you or your horse. 

I have only been running barrels since I met brad, he has taught me everything I know. He has blessed me with good horses and teaches me new things all the time. He always tunes Fashion when she needs it and runs her occasionally. I wouldn’t even be considered for this if it wasn’t for him. We are very blessed to own Fashion, she fits in well with us. She is happy here. I am very honored to be a part of this, thank you all!

This race is all about charity – What’s the biggest cause you believe in and why?

I don’t have a favorite cause, if it has anything to do with helping people that are in need I’m all for it! This is a wonderful thing they are doing for this little girl!!

One thought on “Meet the Best of the Best in Ohio: Hannah Shirey (and a Bonus Interview with Jenna Shirey!)

  1. Pingback: On the Road with Dawn and Clea (Part 2) | The Barrel Racing Blog

Leave a Reply

